skip to primary navigationskip to content

Degree Committee

The Degree Committee is a committee of the Faculty Board. According to the Statutes it is responsible for the ‘approval of students as Graduate Students and the supervision of their work, the award of degrees, diplomas and certificates in respect of graduate study or contributions to learning, and other cognate matters’. For 2016-2017 its membership comprises:


Dr Barak Kushner (EAS)

Secretary & Director
of Graduate Affairs

Dr Christine van Ruymbeke (MES)

Chinese MPhil Coordinator

Professor Hans van de Ven (EAS)


Ms Lucy Cavan and Mrs Andrea Newman

Co Chairs of the Faculty Board

Professors Mickey Adolphson and Amira K Bennison

Head of Department, East Asian Studies

Professor Mickey Adolphson (EAS)

Head of Department, Middle Eastern Studies

Professor Amira K Bennison (MES)

Other Committee members

Dr Paul Anderson (MES)
Dr Imre Galambos (EAS)
Dr John Nilsson-Wright (EAS)
Dr Michael Rand (MES)
Dr Vincenzo Vergiani (MES)