skip to content

Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies


Overall responsibility for the governance of the Faculty lies with the Faculty Board. Membership of the Board for the academical year 2021-22 is shown below.

A number of further committees report to the Board. For information about these, please see the links on the left.

Heads of Department

Middle Eastern Studies

Kennedy Leigh Professor of Modern Hebrew Studies


East Asian Studies

Professor of East Asian History


Secretary to the Board

Faculty Manager

Faculty Board Members

Dr Assef Ashraf
Professor Adam Yuet Chau
Professor Khaled Fahmy FBA
Dr Heather Inwood
Dr Miki Kawabata
Professor Geoffrey Khan
Dr Laura Moretti
Dr John Nilsson-Wright
Dr Michael Rand
Dr Brigitte Steger ブリギッテ・シテーガ
Prof. Roel Sterckx FBA
Dr Vincenzo Vergiani


External members

Prof. James Aitken
Dr Rachel Leow


Student members

Graduate Representative - to be elected
Undergraduate Representatives - to be elected