skip to content

Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies


2024 Chuan Lyu Lectures in Taiwan Studies

Border Imagination

Taiwan on the Frontline

Professor LIN Wei-ping, National Taiwan University

[ combined series poster ]

LIN Wei-ping is Professor of Anthropology at the National Taiwan University and Director of Humanities and Social Sciences, National Science Council, Taiwan. She received her PhD in social anthropology from the University of Cambridge in 1998. Her research interests are in kinship, religion and issues of place and space among the Han Chinese in Taiwan. Religious aspects in particular are the main foci and include religious change, healing cults, and sacred objects (god statues). In recent years she has been carrying out research in a military base on an off-shore island in Taiwan, exploring issues relating to de/militarization, violence, and the state. Her publications include Materializing Magic Power: Chinese Popular Religion in Villages and Cities (Harvard University Asia Center 2015) [Chinese version《靈力具現:鄉村與都市中的民間宗教》NTU Press 2020]; Island Fantasia: Imagining Subjects on the Military Frontline between China and Taiwan (Cambridge University Press 2021) [Chinese version 《島嶼幻想曲:戰地馬祖的想像主體與未來》春山出版 2023]. Both monographs won Scholarly Monograph Awards in the Humanities and Social Sciences given by Academia Sinica. She also edited 《媒介宗教──音樂、影像、物與新媒體》(NTU Press 2018);《氛圍的感染──感官經驗與宗教的邊界》(co-editor; NTU Press 2022).

Her full profile can be found here:

The annual Chuan Lyu Lectures in Taiwan Studies is generously funded by the Chuan Lyu Foundation.

The Chuan Lyu Foundation has been supporting an Annual Lecture Series in Taiwan Studies at Cambridge for over three decades. We are very grateful to the Foundation and its founder, Dr Lee Hwa-lin, for initiating the series and for its continuous support. Over the years, the lectures have attracted a very distinguished list of speakers. The Chuan Lyu lectures are held annually in May.

  • 1991 Professor Stefan Feuchtwang (LSE)
  • 1992 Professor Helen Siu (Yale University)
  • 1993 Professor Charles Stafford (LSE)
  • 1994 Professor TU Wei-ming (Harvard University)
  • 1995 Professor Leo Ou-fan Lee (Harvard University)
  • 1996 Professor SHIBA Yoshinobu (Osaka University)
  • 1998 Dr David Landsborough IV
  • 2000 Professor LIU Ts'ui-jung (National Taiwan University)
  • 2001 Dr LEE Yuan-Tseh (Academia Sinica)
  • 2002 Professor TU Cheng-sheng (Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica)
  • 2003 Professor CHEN Jo-shui (National Taiwan University)
  • 2004 Professor Steve Tsang (University of Oxford)
  • 2005 Dr TSAI Ing-wen
  • 2006 Lord Patten of Barnes (University of Oxford)
  • 2007 Professor LUNG Ying-tai (National Tsing Hua University)
  • 2008 Dr Margaret Hillenbrand (University of Oxford)
  • 2009 Professor CHOU Wan-yao (Academia Sinica)
  • 2010 Professor YEN Chuang-yin (Academia Sinica)
  • 2011 Professor LIAO Ping-hui (UC San Diego)
  • 2012 Professor Julia Huang (National Tsing Hua University)
  • 2013 Professor Chen Kuo-Tung (Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica)
  • 2014 Professor Leonard Blussé (Leiden University)
  • 2015 Dr LAI Chi-Wan
  • 2016 Dr WU Rwei-Ren (Institute of Taiwan History, Academia Sinica)
  • 2017 Professor CHANG Hsun (Institute of Ethnology, Academia Sinica)
  • 2018 Professor Joseph Allen (University of Minnesota)
  • 2019 Professor Paul R. Katz (Institute of Modern History, Academia Sinica)
  • 2020 Not held due to COVID pandemic
  • 2021 Not held due to COVID pandemic
  • 2022 Professor Philip Clart (University of Leipzig)
  • 2023 Dr Stefania Travagnin (SOAS)
  • 2024 Professor LIN Wei-ping (National Taiwan University)